Home 9 Botsotso Books 9 Collected Plays: 2009 – 2017

Collected Plays: 2009 – 2017

by Allan Kolski Horwitz

This collection contains five plays by the South African writer Allan Horwitz: The Pump Room; Comrade Babble; Boykie and Girlie; Jericho; and Book Marks. The plays explore the contradictions and dreams of the new and old South Africa, as well as universal themes that include the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and other moral dilemmas.


ALLAN KOLSKI HORWITZ was born in 1952 in Vryburg, South Africa but grew up in Cape Town. Between 1974 and 1985 he lived in the Middle East, Europe and North America, returning to live in Johannesburg in 1986. Since then he has worked as an organiser and educator in the trade union and social housing movements. He is a writer in various genres as well as being a songwriter and singer. Since leaving full-time employment in the trade unions in 2009, he continues on an ad hoc with his work as an educator and activist. He is a member of the Botsotso Jesters poetry performance group and of the Botsotso board of management.

ISBN 9780994708106
Pages 238
Dimensions 229 x 152mm
Published 2017
Publisher Botsotso Publishing, South Africa
Format Paperback